Time’s Dragons

by reginadee2014

?????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????

Time’s Dragons

Regina Puckett

Runny noses, tag- you’re it and rosy cheeks

High pitched giggles and wagon wheel squeaks

Those were days when innocence ran rampant

Until time and old age turned into a bandit

They stole wishes, dreams and unrepressed glee

And in return handed out aches, pains and busted knees

But even though I can still remember running without a care

I can appreciate what I have and am proud I’m here and not there

Because it took courage to fight time’s dragons and win

So I’ll sit here in my rocking chair and cherish where I’ve been

I’ll let youth catch butterflies and live like there’s no tomorrow

I’m content with my memories and cherish them without sorrow

